AmeriCorps advert

The Corporation for National Service with its grantees and partners has launched an effort to exponentially increase the numbers of volunteers who serve their communities to honor Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. This initiative includes reaching out to community and faith groups, businesses, educational institutions, nonprofits and individuals to plan and implement projects and serve on this holiday …..but it also includes creating the sustainable infrastructure for the those individuals and institutions to remain connected and provide valuable service in their communities throughout the year, while also providing the foundation for a growing King Day of Service in 2007 and in coming years.
Specifically, if you or anyone you know is interested in serving a year as a VISTA member to work on this expansion effort and are available immediately, please contact the people listed below. Please put King Day of Service VISTA in your subject line.
As you probably know, VISTA provides support for relocation and individuals are eligible to serve a 3rd term in AmeriCorps as a VISTA member (although you are not eligible to receive a 3rd Segal AmeriCorps Education Award).

Sacramento, CA: Hands On Sacramento, Nancy Olson at NOlson@handsonsacto.org

Columbia SC: City Year Columbia, Brad Mahdi at bmahdi@cityyear.org

Baton Rouge, LA: City Year Louisiana, Carrie Miller at
cmiller@cityyear.org\n\nProvidence, RI:

City Year Rhode Island, John Crews at jcrews@cityyear.org

Philadelphia, PA: City Year Greater Philadelphia. Jana Curtis at jcurtis01@cityyear.org

United Way of Southeastern Pennsylvania, Heather Wertz at hwertz@uwsepa.org

New Orleans, LA: Interfaith Works, Nancy Murray at ndmurray@earthlink.net

Bridgeport, CT: Service for Peace, Diana Vaptzarova at ridgeport_ed@serviceforpeace.org

Louisville, KY: Service for Peace, Peter Hayes at Louisville@serviceforpeace.org

Birmingham, AL: Hands On Birmingham, Candi Williams at HandsOnBhm@aol.com

Harrisburg, PA: Corporation for National and Community Service, Mary Strasser at
cmiller@cityyear.org

Providence, RI: City Year Rhode Island, John Crews at jcrews@cityyear.org

Philadelphia, PA: City Year Greater Philadelphia. Jana Curtis at jcurtis01@cityyear.org

United Way of Southeastern Pennsylvania, Heather Wertz at hwertz@uwsepa.org

New Orleans, LA: Interfaith Works, Nancy Murray at ndmurray@earthlink.net

Bridgeport, CT: Service for Peace, Diana Vaptzarova at Bridgeport_ed@serviceforpeace.org

Louisville, KY: Service for Peace, Peter Hayes at Louisville@serviceforpeace.org

Birmingham, AL: Hands On Birmingham, Candi Williams at HandsOnBhm@aol.com

Harrisburg, PA: Corporation for National and Community Service, Mary Strasser at
strasser@cns.gov

Advertisements

One Response to “AmeriCorps advert”

  1. Congratulations for your hard work centered on the spirit of service.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: