Scholarship for Burmese Students

Call for Applications for the Supplementary Grant Program –
Burma
 The Supplementary Grant Program–Burma is now accepting applications for the 2007-08 academic year.  The SGP – Burma was established in 1994 to address primarily—but not exclusively—the needs of Burmese refugee students whose college education was disrupted due to political instability in
Burma. The mission of the program is to assist students in achieving their academic goals.
Grants are awarded on the basis of academic record, applicant’s long-term goals, and financial need. Grants are given to students who not only meet the program criteria but who are willing and likely to return to
Burma to work for the democratic and economic rebirth of the country.
The program is designed to provide additional funds to students enrolled in academic programs in accredited colleges, universities, and community colleges leading to a degree (BA, MA, PhD, etc.).To ApplyProspective applicants may apply through the online application system at https://oas.soros.org/oas/ and find more information at http://www.soros.org/initiatives/scholarship/focus_areas/supplementary_burma/guidelines.  Online and paper applications will be equally considered.   Application DeadlinesFor students studying in Asia and Australia: March 15, 2007.

For students studying in Europe and North America: May 15, 2007.Applications must be postmarked by the application deadline or they will be disqualified.

2 Responses to “Scholarship for Burmese Students”

  1. To whom it may concern,
    I’m looking for many scholarship programmes for the burmese refugees. But, I cannot find many. I’m also a refugee in Malaysia. I finished B.Econ (Economics) from Yangon Institute of Economics in Burma. I want to continue M.A (Political Science). So, could you please advise me how to try for the opportunity to study master of political science.

    Best regards,
    Kyaw Kyaw Min

  2. I forgot to suscribe my activities inside and outside Burma. I was an English teacher of high school students in Burma. I worked as a teacher for six years in Burma. Then, I fled to Thailand because of my political background inside Burma. I gave a class my students about human rights. I was arrested twice in Burma.

    I worked in NGOs in three pagodas pass in Thai-Burma border as a teacher. Now, I’m working in NLD (LA) Malaysia as an in charge in education programme and also as a teacher.

    I want to be a teacher in Yangon University when we can go back to Burma some times. I want to teach political science to university students. To be a qualified teacher is the greatest ambition in my life. Now, I’m waiting for an opportunities to be able to study master of political science.

    Best regards,
    Kyaw Kyaw Min

Leave a Reply

