hiking, the gunks and sunshine

on sunday, i traveled upstate to new paltz on the train with anne and risa, to meet emilie and jesse for a hike and some food.  the hills/mountains (?) around there are called the Gunks, a nickname of the Shawangunk Ridge.  When I leave the city like that, it always makes me ask myself – do I really want to live in the city, or would I be happier in a smaller place?  I’m really not sure.  I love the city and everything that it has to offer.  I love the diversity, the food, the people, the mass transit system, the eco-friendliness of many things, the fact that my supermarket is a 30 second walk from my front door.  however, it’s logistically kind of a pain to get out of the city and do something else for a day.  we either have to rent a car *$$$* or take a train and then figure out how to get around.  It’s a tough call.  there’s a lot to like about both.  however, ola and i won’t be in a position that we need to make any long-term decisions for a while, so i guess we can mull it over for a few years!

2 Responses to “hiking, the gunks and sunshine”

  1. I like cities, in general. Used to see myself living in New York but now that we are on the outskirts of boulder, we have our cake and eat it. Denver and all the amenities you mentioned are only a free, 20 minute bus ride away! And I can sleep in my own bed and with garage and fenced yard the very same night. Provided I don’t pass out in a bush somewhere…

  2. I’ll take the simple life any day. I grew up near Chicago and enjoyed the city at times. I love KC because it’s such a manageable smaller city, with lots of fun stuff to do. But I’ve always kind of longed for small town simplicity. Over the years I’ve become more intrigued by simple, plain living. I know, it sounds weird. But it has a lot of appeal to me. Like today, I looked around at the teachers’ work room at the end of the day, and there were a bunch of us collecting our crockpots and covered dishes that we’d brought for the potluck honoring our secretaries, and that seemed like a really touching scene to me. And it was so ordinary! I can’t explain it exactly, but the older I get, the more I seem to appreciate ordinary stuff and the less I seem to need the amenities of a giant metropolis.

Leave a Reply

