small hitches

i’m back home from budapest, kinda tired but doing very well…it was a great pdo and cc – the students are lovely and all seems well. the only downside? somewhere between my office in budapest and my house in new york, the flash drive with all of the photographs that i took at the conferences, except the very first and last day, disappeared. totally gone. i’ve contacted the conference center, my airline, my hotel, SCOURED all of my luggage…nobody has seen it. this is something that is really not that big of a deal, except that i’m the official photographer and it was over 400 photographs that were lost…some of them REALLY good and i’m super-bummed about it. there was other stuff on the drive too, but all of it either trivial, replaceable, or both, but those photographs were stored ONLY on that drive. oh well, i guess…it’s another one of those things that just happens.

BUT once i got home, my darling brothers, eric and evan, arrived to visit for the weekend! πŸ™‚ i was so very happy to see them! it was a fabulous weekend of hanging out, going to the beach, watching Transformers, playing soccer and just laying around. they left this morning and i was so sad to see them go i took the morning off work to hang out with them until they actually drove off. i have to say, the hardest thing about living out here is being so far from my family. i really REALLY miss them. i wish there was an easy way to see them more than a few times a year. so far us having a baby seems to be working towards luring family in our direction, so i’ll keep my fingers crossed for that.

finally, in general family news, i’ve started to feel the baby kick, and ola has even felt him (yes, him) through my stomach (that was just yesterday)!!! it’s a crazy-nutso feeling, and a weird reminder that he’s ALWAYS right with me. that’s a concept i still haven’t quite gotten used to. this baby thing is pretty cool.

2 Responses to “small hitches”

  1. HIM!!!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Sorry to hear about your photos…I am such a OCD about uplooading mine like four times a day. People make fun of me but I would be devastated if I lost my pics. Hope you get them back somehow.
    See you soon!

  2. mermaid mommy Says:

    Him, eh??? Perfect! I can visualize a lovely wedding for HIM and Ms. Linnea. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

