what the heck do you need for a newborn anyway???

i don’t literally mean things like diapers, crib, etc.  just in case you were getting smart-alecky thoughts.  not that you would ever do that.

what i’m wondering is…how long do kids actually wear the newborn stuff?  a week?  a month?  no way a month…so…how MUCH of that little stuff should i buy?  should i even bother?  just put him in footies that are too big for a few weeks because he’ll grow right into and out of them anyway?  skip to the 3 month size?  how many onesies does he need?  i don’t want to run out between washes, but i’m not opening a freakin’ store either.  how much warm clothes?  he’s going to be little in the middle of winter – i don’t want his little booty to freeze! 

what about other random crap?  we live in a small apartment (big for manhattan, but it’s still a one-bedroom apartment in manhattan).  crib + dresser + rocking chair + bouncer/rocker + playpen = no room to walk.  i’m happy to ditch the bouncer.  i think we’ll need the playpen, although it probably won’t really be set up in the apartment…it’s a small enough place i can easily hear him crying from the bedroom when i’m in the kitchen.  but…how do you best economize space when you have none, while still having everything you need for the little light of your life/poop machine?

this weekend i’ll be talking with a new mommy (ann) and plan to get the scoop from her on things like…number of onesies you really need, things like that…but any input is always appreciated.  i’m coming to the end of my 2nd trimester, and REALLY starting to think about these things…i still have plenty of time, but…i want to be as ready to go as we can be several weeks ahead of time just in case.  also, i’m not home much in september, october’s really busy, and november’s filling up fast…i just don’t want to run out of time!  plus, then we can finish the registry and start TRULY shamelessly asking for stuff.  🙂

as a side note, we’re going with cloth diapers, so that’s a good thing to get us (or buy us diaper service!!!)  and – heading into my 3rd trimester in a little bit…14 weeks and counting down – WOW.

6 Responses to “what the heck do you need for a newborn anyway???”

  1. knittingnoob Says:

    I have to say, I’ve never used a crib. My first two slept with me till they were old enough to move to a toddler bed. Co-sleeping is a life-saver, in more ways than one, for me.

    This time around we got a playpen/basinette combo, so she can sleep next to our bed. I’ve never had a need for a rocker/bouncer/jumper. A good sling (try http://babiesinchico.com/mobywraps.aspx) is a must-have. Check out those cloth diapers while you are there!

    As for clothes, it depends on how big your baby is. Mine were all large babies so newborn stuff lasted about a week. Check and see if there is a consignment shop near you, you can buy gently used and sell it back when baby has grown out.

    You absolutely need a carseat. I know in CA you can’t leave the hospital without one. I’ve always used a graco carseat/stroller combo.

    Make a changing table on top of the dresser to maximize space.

    I do think a rocking chair is important. You can’t stand and sway forever.

    Another thing, boppy pillows or some other brand of nursing pillows. A lot of breastfeeding has to do with how the baby is latching on, a good nursing pillow will help and spare you the worst of sore nipples. Get some lanolin too, for the sore times. A couple nursing bras and nursing pads too.

    Warm clothes? I live in CA so I may not be the best person to answer that one.

    Newborn/baby gowns are great because they fit many sizes. You will probably get so many newborn things as gifts you won’t be able to use them all. We have two drawers full of 0-3 months. She won’t go through all that. Ask people to buy you larger sizes.

    Thats all I can think of for now, though I’ve written more than I meant to. I can’t tell you exact numbers, as it’s been 6 years since there was a baby in my house! If you have a spitter you’re going to be changing clothes 5 or more times a day. It never hurts to have too many clothes or burp rags.

    If you have any other questions, I’ll do my best to help! Good luck, I hope the next few months go swiftly for you!

  2. mermaid mommy Says:

    You and Ann will have LOTS to talk about. I was thinking playpens were out of vogue–I always loved ours but nowadays I hear more about pack-n-plays. They have a fabulous papazan (sp??) swing for Linnea which has been wonderful. Caroline got us some nice equipment to have here at Granny and Grand Dad’s from freecycle.

    Kids do take up a lot of space–at least their stuff seems to. It’ll be fun to squeeze it all into your little apartment!!

  3. it will be interesting! seriously keeping ourselves comfortable in a small space has taught me lessons about what i do and don’t need, as well as VERY creative storage, that I hope I never forget! I’m looking forward to chatting with Ann about it – and you’re right, I meant pack’n’play, not playpen. 🙂

  4. i recommend not buying many clothes because judging from linnea’s closet when they brought her home, it appeared she had about a bazillion things to wear. everyone loves to buy baby clothes right? what the hell do i know about this subject…

  5. you two should keep me posted as far as registry goes. auntie hoa wanna contribute to the big welcome of the cool dude 🙂

  6. I am in my third trimester i have about 2 months left to go. I found out at about 4 1/2 months that i was having a girl. I have alot of help from my boyfriend (babys dad). He does everything he can to help me with my big belly getting in the way i cant do to much. what i have so far for my daughter is a crib,clothes,diapers,bottles,car seat,booties,dresser,2bouncers,baby bath tub,basinetter,babyswing,blankets,socks,1z’s(need lots of those), bibs,and crib sheets. I am gonna be getting more with my baby shower. oh and thanks too everyone who puts information on here it helps me this is my first baby and i can use all the information i can get!

Leave a Reply

