outta here.

i’m leaving in about an hour and a half for my last international trip for work. at least at this job, at this office. it’s just a short jaunt to Istanbul, i’ll be back wednesday, and then on Thursday Ola and I are off to Florida (no hurricanes please) until the 28th. so i’m basically about to disappear for most of 2 weeks, since i don’t know what kind of computer time (or inclination to write) i’ll have during this time.

I’m not sad that this will be my last international trip (i’m still heading to the exotic locations of pennsylvania and vermont before i’m done!), but it feels a little strange. travel is something i love, one of the reasons that i love this job, and i’ve had a chance to do a lot of it in the last few years. frankly, i’ve been spoiled totally rotten. i’ve been to (at least once, and usually quite a bit more) – the UK, Hungary, Turkey, Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia, Moldova, Macedonia, Bulgaria, Romania, Mongolia, Thailand, Russia and China. And it hasn’t cost me a thing. Moreover, I have gotten to not be a tourist, but meet with students, NGO’s, and government officials while I was there, and had the chance to really learn firsthand about a lot of the issues that are current and pertinent in these areas.

It’s kind of painful to realize that it may be a long time before I’m back in Chiang Mai, Zagreb, Budapest or (after this weekend) Istanbul. I think it’s going to be a hard adjustment. But then I think about all I’ve been given the chance to do with only a BA, and I still have a graduate degree ahead of me, and I think about the little boy that will soon be part of our lives, and I’m not worried. I’m pretty sure I’ll still be happy 🙂

2 Responses to “outta here.”

  1. You are the Best!
    42

  2. mermaid mommy Says:

    Your world travels are amazing and what a perspective they’ve given you! And now you get to prepare for a whole new adventure…being mommy. Looking forward to seeing you in that new role! It’s going to be the biggest challenge ever, with the biggest rewards.

    Safe travels until you post again!

Leave a Reply

