law school mommy

you may or may not be aware that i am now starting my 3rd week as a 1L evening student at a DC law school.  my school/home schedule day goes something like this: 

7:30 AM – wake up to Kieran hollering to be rescued from his bed

8:00 AM – get breakfast for both of us.  play until…

11:00 AM – hopefully get Keiran down for a nap that will last anywhere from 20 minutes to 2 1/2 hours.  while he’s asleep, shower, study, clean, laundry, cook.

12;30 (or so) – lunch for both of us.  then play until….

3 PM – Emily, our fantastic babysitter shows up.  I finish getting ready to head out and go to school, arriving at…

4:15 PM (or so) – study until class starts at….

6 PM – torts or contracts, depending on the day

8 PM – If it’s monday, I have class until 10 (legal rhetoric).  otherwise i head home.

9 PM – hang out with ola until he needs to go to bed at about 9:30.

9:30 – study until (hopefully) at least 11 or 11:30.

repeat next day!

this is so much harder than i even thought it would be, and i thought it would be pretty darn rough.  i love that i have a large part of the day to hang out with Kieran.  I hate that I rarely see Ola.  I have a huge workload and seriously struggle to keep up with my reading and assignments.  I am stressed to a point that I have rarely been before in my life, and this is just starting.  almost every day I question to some degree if I’m making the right decision, if I can really do this.

but I do love it, so i guess we’ll figure it out and make it work.

2 Responses to “law school mommy”

  1. You’ve taken on a lot. As moms we always second guess ourselves–am I doing right by my family? Are my priorities in the right place? You’ll know if you need to make an adjustment. You have great instincts. Just take one day at a time and keep all options open. Before you know it the holidays will be here and you can relax, take a few deep breaths, and have more time with Ola and Kieran. I’m thinking of you!

  2. Hi!
    I just discovered your blog and I thought I would say hello! I am a new Mommy (our little girl is 3months old today) and I am a happily married wife and 3rd year law student.

    I was very interested in your daily schedule because I know it can be SUPER tough to try to fit it all in. The key to my day seems to be to try to get up and get settled before she wakes up. It doesn’t always happen, but it is great when it does.

    Please know that in terms of school it truly does get better and you will make it through this hazing period of 1L year! 🙂

    I keep trying to encourage myself by thinking about how wonderful it will be to finish law school and go to graduation with my baby girl watching the wings! It can be done! You can make it too!
    Best wishes!!!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

